Don’t Panic

So, my arm hurts. A lot.

20111228-115344.jpg

But I’m not gonna panic.

I got my very first tattoo yesterday. It hurt. Quite a bit, I would say. The outline felt like I was being cut on. The filling in was itchy and hot and I strongly disliked it. Now it just feels like I have a bad sunburn on my arm.

I concentrated quite hard on the sensations so that I’d be able to describe the pain to you. All in all I would say it hurt less than my nipple piercings and about as much as my rook. ( Fun note, my piercings in order from most to least painful: Nipples, 2nd nose, rook, first nose, helix 1st time, helix 2nd time, 2nd lobe, first pair of lobes. )

So yeah: cutting then itchy burny irritation followed by the soreness of a bad sunburn. I’m told forearms hurt a good deal less than other places. So yay. I don’t plan on any more tattoos in the future. Except maybe the one Lu and I planned on ages ago :p

Some info: Don’t panic is from hitchhiker’s guide to the galaxy. I initially wrote it inside my left forearm during NaNoWriMo 2009 as a reminder not to panic about deadlines or anything else really. This was the last Christmas I celebrated with my parents and was quite stressful.

The font is Gill Sans, commonly accepted as the font on the TARDIS and many other official-ish type things in England. It was originally designed by a bloke surnamed Gill for a friend who owned a bookshop.

This is not a tattoo for Doctor Who or Hitchhiker’s. It’s a tattoo for me – a friendly reminder to calm down and a clean, large, friendly font to facilitate that reminder.

Fantastic, no?

Share your tattoo experiences with me in the comments! Bonus points for pics.

7 thoughts on “Don’t Panic

  1. I haven’t got one yet, but I’ve planned it already and know what I’m getting. Just guna wait until after uni, cause it will mean even more. X

  2. I love it…

    I have heard tattoos likened to kitten claws…I would say that the most painful one was my first (on my chest) and even that was not as horrifying as I had imagined it would be.

    I have an ankh & spider spider sits on top of ankh) on my chest, the Eye of Ra on my back and my thorn heart/spider on my right calf.

    I’d very willingly get another but I don’t know what or where.

    Congrats on your tat!

  3. Pingback: Build the Sky « Tales from the Asteroid

Say Something!

