Friends

Let’s talk about friends for a minute.

When I was younger I had a really hard time connecting with people. This may have been because I was alarmingly difficult to be friends with. It may also have been because of my mother’s habit of picking up her boobs and setting them on people and/or offering to show them to people whenever they came round ( after her breast augmentation ). I think it was probably more the first than the second.

But I always had a hard time. Before I started at UNT, I had a really hard time making friends. Because it’s hard. It’s really hard to connect with anybody in a non-romantic sort of way if you’re not in school and you don’t work with your peers.

Thankfully, I now have a few people I can call good friends, many people I can say I’m friendly with and a plethora of acquaintances with whom I am on good terms.

But this wasn’t always so. In the spirit of the Christmas/Hanukkah season, I’d like to acknowledge and thank those people who call themselves my friend. Particularly the awesome crew I had the good fortune to work with at the Santa set and the pseudo-relative who spent her holiday with me. It was insane and hard and I got sick a lot which was crap and we almost didn’t have Christmas dinner which was even more crap, but they stuck by me and were fantastic.

And honestly, the friends who can wear reindeer antlers with you are the best kind of friend you could ask for.

20111229-215359.jpg

Say Something!

