Darmok

Darmok and Jalad, at Tanagra. Picard and Dathon at El-Adrel.

Darmok and Jalad, at Tanagra. Picard and Dathon at El-Adrel.

I showed my roommate my favourite episode of Star Trek: TNG today. I love love love the way the Tamarian language works. It is a language based entirely on metaphor drawing from their myths and stories. It’s also just a really quality episode that has a lot to say on the importance of communication and the responsibility of those with even a small amount of power to do their best to communicate with the people they meet.

Whenever I watch this episode, I always start thinking about how English might sound in metaphor – I think our generation would have a lot of Harry Potter situations. Also, I think a forbidden but widely suspected love might be “Spock and Kirk, on the Enterprise” :p

Specific to my life we have:

  • Phrennie, her claws on the door – When you really, really have to pee
  • Sarang, at the bathroom sink – When you’re thirsty!
  • Dru at the pizzeria, her hands blurred – Doing stuff really fast!
  • Or something. Idk. I’ve been drinking.

    The point is, I love this episode. It’s on Netflix. Season 5, episode 2. WATCH IT.

    Love you,

    Dru

    Say Something!

    