New Year, New Dedication to Really Old, Unoriginal Resolutions

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/ad3/773830/files/2015/01/img_2946.jpg

My resolution for this year is to be able to run a 5k. Well, and to write every day, but I’ve already failed that one so let’s not talk about it.

I want to run several 5ks this year ideally, but I’m pretty sure I need to be able to run one first. I’m using the renowned C25K Free! app and yeah, I definitely decided to do a Week 0 because I’m not really able to do 8 intervals right now, but you know what? One must start at the beginning of one’s own path. And I refuse to feel bad about the fact that I have the stamina of an incredibly unfit 24 year old woman. Because I am that person. That person is literally who I am.

So training! M W F I’m doing the thing on the treadmill with the jogging. It’s a 3.7mph walk then a 6mph jog then back again for 90s:60s intervals respectively. Pretty exciting. And I was doing GREAT.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/ad3/773830/files/2015/01/img_2968.jpg

And then this happened. I hooked up with a guy that gave me fair warning that he was feeling sick, and I caught a cold from him. Or the flu? Whatever. I was running 38.4°C fever and I’m only just now – a week later feeling better. I’m pretty much down to a cough and sinus pressure, which still knocks me out of the running game for now. But you better believe I’m not giving up. I may have lost my first fortnight of training, but I’m going to do the thing. This spring I’m gonna do some of those stupid social beer runs that Oak Street Draft House puts on, and this summer I’m gonna do one of those stupid Hotter Than Hell runs, and this fall I’m going to do that stupid zombie run and the paint one in Dallas with the colourful powder stuff, and next winter I’m going to do that stupid fucking Spirit of Christmas run. Because I’m spirited. And I’m going to be a fucking runner.

As soon as I can breathe without coughing up phlegm.

Say Something!

