Planning for Spontaneity

You know what’s really great? I will tell you. Don’t worry – I’m not actually gonna make you guess. The question marks are rhetorical.

Doing fun stuff when it’s proposed is really great. Being spontaneous. Being that person that can fly by the seat of their pants and do the thing right that moment. Seize opportunities, or sweet free t-shirts, or whatever. It’s great.

also root fucking beer

Milk and Dark Chocolate Salted Caramels courtesy of Atomic Candy of Denton

It’s also impossible to be that person when you wait until you have literally no clean clothes before doing laundry. It’s impossible to invite someone you met at a bar back to your flat when you wait until you’re drowning in cat litter and shit to clean the bathroom. It’s impossible to fuck strangers when you don’t buy condoms.

You’re catching my meaning, I think.

So far this year I have utterly failed at my c25k training, mostly because I got really sick for a week and also my complex locked our fitness room seemingly permanently and recommended a good local gym for me to go buy a membership to when I asked when our mini-gym would be open for business again. I wish you could see how unimpressed I am, but I have no idea how to emoji on a computer. But I have been working on something else – making room for fun and amazing things to happen to me. I’ve been concentrating on the basic life chores that I’ve always struggled so hard with, and it’s been working out great. When someone says “Let’s go for lunch” I can say ‘sweet.’ instead of ‘ugh I would love to but I can’t because I haven’t done my laundry in the past two months and I am not only out of clean underwear but also out of everything else I could possibly wear in public.’

It’s fucking awesome.

So…be nice to yourself. Make room for fun stuff to happen and it will. Yay for morality blogs.

Also, if you’re in Denton and haven’t been there yet, get your butt over to Atomic Candy. They’ve got a wall of English chocolates, they have fucking salted caramels, they sell those stupid fucking horse masks and bacon chocolates – It’s like if reddit made a candy store, but then there were also decent human beings there too. Unf.

That’s it. Have a fun day ilu xxxxx

Say Something!

